Home

When I started this blog, one of my goals was to promote the local music scene a lot more. The problem I’ve encountered, however, is that time is not always the easiest thing to come by.

Recently, Scott Lenard of Jethro Skull asked for my help promoting their upcoming show with Bob Wayne and the Outlaw Carnies at The Trial Bar on April 17th and I got a good idea. I asked Scott if he would like to come up with some interview questions for me.

Bob’s background, life on tour and what he’s got coming up on the horizon are some of the things they discussed.

This show is going to be one that you will not want to miss, you can find out more about that show on Facebook.

You can find out more about Jethro Skull here and Bob Wayne here.

jethroskullscott

First off, tell me a little about yourself and how long you’ve been playing music. Also, who are your some of the biggest influences on your music?

My name’s Bob Wayne. I’ve been playing music bobwaynepromosince I was 8 years old.. But seriously dedicated playing since I was 15. I travel the world now, playing a bunch of songs I wrote with all kinds of different musicians!! We have a great time on the road. My biggest influences are all three Hanks, Waylon, Cash, Jimmy Martin, Sabbath, Pantera, early Metallica, Roky Erickson, Neurosis , and too many more to name!! I love a lot of music!!

How did the formation of your backing band The Outlaw Carnies come about?

When I wrote my first song for this outfit, I immediately had a vision of this crazy carnival life of a touring musician so I Named the band the Outlaw Carnies!! Anyone who plays a show with this band or records a on a record with me is an outlaw carnie in my book!!

Does the lineup change often?

Well considering I’ve been on the road non stop since 2006 with this band, touring Europe 13 times and America about 60 times, Canada, and even South America, you could say I’ve burned through a lot of musicians!! A man can only take so much out here…but there is one constant, and that’s me…I live for the road. Literally.

You’re currently at the end of a tour that took you from one end of the country to the other. Do you have any particularly crazy stories from this tour you’d like to share?

Well, Elmer (bassist)  gave himself a concussion in a black-out, woke up with our guitarists (Ryan Clackner)  face tattood on his leg, and a bunch of videos of us tazing him and him ripping the bench out at a Waffle House and throwing it into the kitchen at the cook because they couldn’t get our orders right (laughs) …. All true…

How often do your experiences on tour influence your songwriting?

Quite a bit. There’s songs all around us waitin to be written about everything going on!! It’s a challenge looking for them, but I love it!!

Your last album Til The Wheels Fall Off has been out for a little over a year now. Have you made plans to work on the follow up yet?

Oh yeah, been writing a bunch of new songs!! I still have some hefty touring to do this year, but I’m hoping to get into the studio by December and have a new one out by spring or summer 2014.

As someone who’s always been used to doing things yourself, how have things changed for you with the support of a big label like Century Media Records?

Not much really, at least not in America. In Europe I have noticed a big difference, as it seems you are more accepted into festivals and better tours if you have a label working behind you.

Have you felt any added pressure during your songwriting due to the support of a big label behind you?

Nah, I never force the songs, they come pretty naturally!!

What are some goals for your career that you hope to achieve before you call it quits?

Quits!??? I’ll be doin this &$@@ till the wheels fall off this mother $&@”@ (insert train whistle) 😉 Come see us at the show!!!

bobwayne

One thought on “Scott Lenard of Jethro Skull Interview with Bob Wayne

Tell Me What You Think!

